top of page

Our Curriculum

The 7 areas of learning and development within the EYFS have not changed, these are:
•           Communication and language
•           Physical development
•           Personal, social and emotional development
•           Literacy
•           Mathematics
•           Understanding the world
•           Expressive arts and design
The prime areas of learning form the essential foundations for healthy development and future learning. Once a solid start has formed within the prime areas we continue to build upon these skills, opening to explore more learning opportunities within the specific areas of learning.
These 7 areas are the basis for our curriculum. Careful thought is given to inform our enabling environments (indoors and outdoors), to provide resources, activities and learning opportunities to meet each child’s unique requirements. Ofsted call this ‘curriculum’.  Our curriculum is very flexible and responsive to follow children’s interests and those totally unplanned learning opportunities that sometimes come out of the blue, such as it unexpectedly snowing, etc!
Young children learn through play.  The EYFS refers to the Characteristics of Effective Learning.  These are:
•           Playing and exploring
•           Active learning
•           Creating and thinking critically
Every EYFS provider has their own bespoke curriculum, to support each child’s unique developmental pathway, following their interests and fascinations.

Kids Blowing Bubbles
Curriculum: Programs
bottom of page